Thoughts for No One in Particular

Law of inertia

Are you the type of person who:

A) Continue doing something until you find a problem you cannot avoid; or

B) Avoid doing something until you have proven a problem-free state?

 

I am often the B type. Although I know there can never be a completely problem-free state, I nonetheless try to imagine as many as possible the obstacles and ways to climb over or go around them. Until I can feel confident that I have run enough simulations, I do not give the green light. I would not budge and it sometimes takes forever to take that first step forward.

 

I can see that my unwillingness to move can be annoying to others, especially to those who are of the A type. They probably think of me as a negative person who opposes to and disapproves everything – an impediment in their way of motion. And as the type of people they are, they usually try to bulldoze over me in full speed.

 

But did you know that staying at rest and staying in motion actually have one thing in common? A 17th- to 18th-century English physicist Sir I.N. said in his First Law of Motion that if the forces acting upon an object are balanced, then the acceleration of that object will be zero. No acceleration, nochange. In other words, neither of us are changing.

 

No change means no growth. No growth, and we will both be making the same mistakes over and over again without learning. I, stuck in the same place, and you, running around in circles. ButI am sure that is not what either of us want. So I have a preposition for us both.

 

Maybe you can help me get off my bum by pushing my back.

And maybe I can help you get off your feet by offering a place to rest.

 

Maybe you can help me get a jump start by standing beside me.

And maybe I can help you escape crash landing by sitting beside you.

 

Maybe you can help me be a little less neurotic with things I can never control.

And maybe I can help you be a little more attentive to things you have overlooked to control.

 

Sir I.N. also said that an object will accelerate if there is an unbalanced force acting upon it. Do you not think that we are the most unbalanced forces to one another? Together, we can accelerate, change, grow.

One thought on “Law of inertia

Leave a Reply

