Thoughts for No One in Particular

Umbrella term

It is a long weekend this weekend in my country of origin. I made an extensive list of things to do in the next three days, and I had such high hopes for myself. But when I woke up this morning, I looked outside the window and my heart was squished… it was raining! All those plans of enjoying the spring fling had to be put off. I was feeling very disappointed and needed consolation.

 

I had all the time in the world, so I did some reading up on rain to look for some information that would make me hold less grudge against it. And in time, I found just what I was looking for. I feel much better now, so I thought I would share them with you – maybe they can make you feel a little better as well.

 

In my mother tongue, misty rain that falls softly and gently in spring time is apparently called “sweet rain.” It is said to be dewdrops as sweet as honey that fall from heaven when the yin and yang are in balance. It is thought to be grace from God that gives new life to plants and flowers and encourages them to bud and flourish, and is also called “loving rain” and “palatable rain.”

 

So, maybe rain is not all bad.

Maybe rain fell today to make us put our feet up at home so we would not step on the budding plants and flowers.

Maybe rain fell today because, for a moment, we managed to attain peace and happiness in our world and were rewarded for the achievement.

 

Maybe rain fell today to remind us that there are times we can agree on something, like with how we think of rain. I know there is a saying in English (and a similar one in French) in line with “sweet rain” – “March winds and April showers bring forth May flowers.” And I am sure each of your language has phrases that fall under this umbrella term. (Feel free to share!)

 

One more proverb from my mother tongue with the term umbrella in it: “Do not expect lent umbrellas and lanterns to be returned.” It actually means something similar to the English proverb “vows made in storms are forgotten in calm.” But I would like to interpret it to mean, if a mere umbrella (or lantern) helps, by all means, you take it!

 

You are always welcome to take any umbrellas you like from here, and you will always be welcomed to come back even if you do not return them, I promise!

3 thoughts on “Umbrella term

Leave a Reply

