Thoughts for No One in Particular

As you like it

Do you ever wonder how we become good at something?

 

Maybe talent. That special ability in you that lets you do well without trying.

I am a strong believer that we are all talented in something. But I often find that the talent you have is not exactly the one you want. Sometimes, you may not even know what it can be good for.

 

Maybe knowledge and skills. Those information and expertise you gain through education and/or training.

I am a strong believer that we can all acquire knowledge and skills if we are given the opportunity. But I often find that not all knowledge and skills you want are readily available. Sometimes, you may not even know where to look for or if you have found the necessary and sufficient kind.

 

Maybe experience. All that practice you do to make perfection.

I am a strong believer that we all get better (or at the very least, less worse) in time through experience. But I often find that quite a lot of practice is needed before you start to see the desired improvements, and you need to keep practicing to not regress. Sometimes, you may not even know how much time and effort you will have to put in.

 

So, neither talent nor knowledge and skills nor experience are essential in becoming good at something. Then, what is?

 

Maybe liking. That feeling of affection that makes you see things in favourable ways.

I am a strong believer that the most deciding factor in becoming good at something is liking it. When you like what you do, you do as you like – you favour putting in more time and effort, opening your mind up to all kinds of knowledge and skills, and trying to figure out how the talent you have can substitute for the talent you want.

 

And chances are, when it is so obvious that you like what you do, people around you will do as they like and favour supporting you with all their talent and knowledge and skills and experience.

 

I am so grateful for everyone who visits here and take the time to read through my post(s). I am not as good as I wish I were doing the things I do here, so I feel very humbled to have such talented and knowledgeable and skilled and experienced people like yourselves stop by. You may come and go as you like, but I hope I get better at what I am doing here to make you like coming back!

Leave a Reply

