Thoughts for My People

Sending bear hugs!

Kumamon

“My heart is with you!”

 

This is Kumamon, the mascot of the region that was most hard-hit by the earthquake a week ago. The copyrights-holders have temporarily lifted restrictions for use to allow anyone to draw him in their get-well messages to the affected people and region.

 

Ever since I heard this news, I tried and tried to “draw” him with tatting… only to fail again and again. (Well, I’m only a year-old tatter, what can you expect!) So I did the next best thing – I drew him (let’s not get into the quality of it… he’s a lot cuter and cuddlier than shown here, for sure), but added a piece of tatting to really show my heart (and a bit of a follow-up on the flower power from last week in his cheeks).

 

A B-I-I-I-G bear hug from my version of Kumamon to all the affected in my homeland, and in Ecuador as well.

 

Maybe you can join me in sending bear hugs to my people and the people of Ecuador?

 

Now, I could not confirm the copyright restrictions being lifted for use in get-well messages outside my country, so to avoid any trouble, I would advise you NOT to draw him.

 

And like last week’s flower power, no need to do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you happen to find some hug-giving bear while living your life as you would on any given day – a teddy bear of yours or your children, a bear statue somewhere, a bear mascot of your favourite sports team, a family member (humans or animals) wearing a bear outfit, someone with “bear” in his/her name, someone who is referred to as “the Bear”… whatever! – you would kindly share it with my people and the people of Ecuador.

 

Maybe you could post your version of bear hug on your site?

And maybe you can let me know by leaving a comment?

 

Again, I would not want you to get into any trouble. Please make sure the bear you approach consents to giving hugs!

 

Thank you always to all my visitors for taking the time to read through my post(s). I am very grateful for your views, especially in the past week, letting me sort out my thoughts and feelings here on the (literally) ground-shaking events that have happened in my country and the many many people who were affected by them. As we are very slowly but surely getting back to normal, I will probably make less and less reference to them. But they remain in my thoughts – I would appreciate if you would keep us in the corner of your thoughts as well.

4 thoughts on “Sending bear hugs!

  1. Pattern: [heart] “Queen of Hearts” by M.K.; [flowers] doodles by me
    Thread: Fine by Fujix (polyester hand sewing thread, size #40, colour #178 – dark pink) – doubled for tatting the heart
    Size: [heart] about 5 centimetres or slightly less than 2 inches; [flowers] both slightly over 1 centimetre or less than 1/2 inch

    Like

Leave a Reply

