Thoughts for Myself

Thought you’d never ask

Maybe I am getting less nosy.

I have gotten a little more comfortable with who I am, so I do not need to know what others are up to and constantly measure my success against theirs.

 

I do not praise someone for their good deeds, nor do I point out their wrongdoings. Maybe they could have climbed up the ladder faster if I acknowledged their success, or could have avoided falling off one if I warned them of their possible failure. But nobody asked me, so I don’t any more.

 

Maybe I am getting less concerned.

I have gotten a little more confident with what I have become, and feel that my opinions and preferences should matter just as much, so I do not worry about what others think of me.

 

I say what I want and do as I please. Maybe I should have thought of how my words would make others feel or what reactions they would have to my actions. But nobody asked me, so I don’t any more.

 

…Oh dear, maybe I am actually getting less caring!

I thought I was getting older and wiser, getting less nosy and concerned. But just because nobody is asking me to, I should not stop being interested in what others are up to and considerate of how I may make others think and feel.

 

Maybe nobody is asking me any more because I stopped asking them first.

Maybe we are both waiting for the other to ask.

Maybe if I can show I care, others will show me they care too.

 

Then, maybe if I can muster a little more courage to start asking again first, I will be greeted with “I thought you’d never ask!” and I can finally begin an older and wiser relationship, with lots of shows of interest and consideration.

And care. Lots and lots of it. Both ways.

Leave a Reply

