Thoughts for Myself

Sending bundles of joy!

Are there milestone birthdays that are specially celebrated in your culture?

 

Last week, when I went out to catch some scented breeze, there was one other place I visited on my way home. It used to be the residential area of the head of another major conglomerate of my country of origin, but here, only few buildings remain due to loss to fire after a big earthquake nearly a century ago.

 

One of the buildings that survived is a library:

 

S_Garden_Library

(This photo is from a year ago when cherry blossoms were still in bloom.)

 

It was built to commemorate a milestone birthday, the eightieth, of the head. And the designer/architect decided to express the joy of celebration by placing embellished Chinese character for the word “joy” everywhere.

 

For example, in the fences…

 

S_Garden_Library_Joy_Fence

 

… in the windows…

 

S_Garden_Library_Joy_Window

 

… and in the rugs!

 

S_Garden_Library_Joy_Rug

 

How much more special can a birthday get? Well, just so you don’t get the wrong idea, we don’t ALL celebrate milestone birthdays by building buildings in my homeland. But I think every birthday is special and deserves to be celebrated with lots and lots of joy.

 

So this week, I want to send a bundle of joy to the bundles of joy who were born on or around the time the big earthquake hit in my homeland. I cannot even begin to imagine what a difficult time their mommies must be having to bring them into this world and take care of them in the midst of a disaster. But I hope they know that we are there to support in any way we can and wish to celebrate their first milestone birthday.

 

Maybe you can join me in sending bundles of joy to the babies and their mommies in the affected area of my homeland?

 

As with all previous get well messages which started with sending flower power, I would not ask you to do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you know anyone celebrating a milestone birthday, or any birthday for that matter, you would kindly share the joy of celebration with my people.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot of that joy and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know by leaving a comment?

 

Again, no need to go out of your way. But I would love to know how other cultures celebrate milestone birthdays! (By the way, we call the eightieth birthday “umbrella celebration” because the abbreviated Chinese character for the word “umbrella” looks like it is written “eighty.”)

 

As always, thank you so much to everybody who comes here to read my post(s). I am so grateful that you have chosen to visit a site only five months old – it is still a baby needing lots of attention and care, and you have given lots with your views. What a bundle of joy!

4 thoughts on “Sending bundles of joy!

    1. Okay, notewords, I confess – I’m one of those people who make more fuss about milestone events than others XD But I think we all begin to see as we get older that aging and growing up has very little to do with one another… and start using milestones as excuses to just have fun! I don’t think I’m ever going to be a fully grown-up person, and I’m not ashamed to admit it ;P

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No, not when it’s you who has to do the growing up! But to watch the young minds grow up… now, it’s also nothing I expected it to be, but in the completely opposite way. It’s sheer joy, even if it involves a lot of hard work and patience 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

