Thoughts for My People

Sending beautiful moons!

Last weekend, I took a mini-trip to a neighbouring city to see an exhibit of the drafts and other belongings of one of our famous novelist of modern times, S.N. Before he became a novelist, he had other aspirations but chose to pursue a career as an English literature scholar because it paid him well.

 

Although he did not seem to enjoy the job, I saw some of his English writings at the exhibit and I was amazed by his control over the language from early on. His handwriting was beautiful, the vocabularies he used were beautiful, and the structure and flow of his stories were beautiful.

 

Well then, it is no wonder to me that his work in translation is beautiful as well. There is a little anecdote that is so very well-known (but unverified, I believe) to my people in which he supposedly suggested that the phrase “I love you” be translated to read “the moon is beautiful” in my mother tongue, because it is not in our culture to show our affection in such direct wording.

 

Why the moon? I do not know. But when you look up and see a beautiful moon above, does it not make you want to share it with your loved ones? So when you tell someone that “the moon is beautiful,” you are really telling them you love them… a bit of a roundabout way to say “I love you,” but actually very affectionately direct in my culture, I think. Even his logics are beautifully constructed!

 

So this week, I thought of sending my continued love and support to my people affected by the big earthquake that hit my homeland a month and a half ago in the form of a beautiful moon. But, as you know, my photography skills (or my camera) are not good enough to capture the real thing at night… so I got a shot of another moon in daylight:

 

Pine_Moon_at_U_Park

“The pine moon” at top centre

 

The branches of a pine tree are grown into a circular shape to resemble a full moon by the artistry of tree gardeners. Rest assured, no pine trees were hurt or stressed in the making of “the pine moon” – it is a well-established traditional art and trained tree gardeners give their utmost love and care to guide the trees in finding the most beautiful shape they can be in!

 

It is actually better to enjoy the view from the other side, but I could not get a good shot today (in addition to my photography skills and my camera, the weather was no good), so I took a photo of a board showing a painting of the view over 150 years ago:

 

Pine_Moon_150_Years_Ago

 

Maybe you can join me in sending beautiful moons to my people in the affected regions of my homeland?

 

As with all previous get well messages which started with sending flower power, you need not do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you find something that resembles the moon and you find it beautiful, you would kindly share it with my people to let them know of your love and support for them.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot of your version of the beautiful moon and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know by leaving a comment?

 

Again, please do not feel you have to go out of your way. I would not want to put you in danger because you were not watching where you were going!

 

Thank you to everybody, old and new, who visits me and my thoughts here. I really appreciate your taking the time to read through my post(s). I am not a beautiful writer, but I hope there is, and will be, bits and pieces of beautiful moon here for each of you.

 

Moon_Rabbits

Sweet red bean dumplings “Little Rabbits”

 

Several Asian mythologies say there are white hares living on the moon preparing magical medicine of immortality… maybe these little ones are making some for you!

3 thoughts on “Sending beautiful moons!

    1. Thank you so very much for your wishes, notewords – I am grateful for all my viewers, and especially you for leaving comments, for keeping my people in their thoughts through my posts. So much happens every day around the world, we get lost in the news so easily, but it’s nice to know there’s someone out there who remembers you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

