Thoughts for My People

Making it happen

What and how much has happened in two months?

 

Two months is the time that have passed since the first big earthquake hit the Southwest region of my homeland.

 

Forty-nine are dead and one still missing, whose search is made difficult due to continued risk of landslide from aftershocks and increased precipitation in the rainy season. Twenty more to date are said to have died from “disaster-related” conditions. The toll is unknown for animal members of families affected.

 

Nearly 140 thousand houses have damages, 30 thousands of which have fully or majorly collapsed and deemed dangerous to live in. Over 6 thousand people are still staying at nearly 150 emergency shelters. More than 3 thousand temporary homes are to be built by the end of July, but only a little over 200 have been made available at this point to move in. There are many more who now resides in garages, cars, and camping tents.

 

We are still unable to grasp the full extent of the effects we have suffered. A sharp decline is seen in number of tourists to the affected regions, especially from abroad. Operations at many factories and fields and ranches have been severely limited or put on hold indefinitely. Physical and mental health needs of the affected are changing with the passage of time.

 

Maybe too much have happened in two months.

Maybe, despite our best efforts, recovery is not fast or extensive enough.

 

But some recoveries are happening remarkably fast, extending hope to the affected regions and beyond.

 

The castle that has been the monumental landmark of the area most affected has resumed nighttime light-up this month, and repair works are to begin as early as this week. A rice field that once gave up on raising crop this year because its water supplies were lost was able to plant seedlings just in time when a spring nearby that dried up ages ago suddenly reappeared.

 

Maybe recovery is excruciatingly slow, but some have surely happened in two months.

And maybe with our continued efforts, it will come to roll out faster and more extensively.

Maybe if we all chip in, we can make it happen.

 

I will continue to keep the affected in my thoughts, and keep thinking of how I can chip in in my own ways to make recovery happen. And I thank you for keeping my people in your thoughts through my posts, and supporting me keep thinking of ways I can chip in with your views and likes. I hope to let you witness with me here how my people make it happen.

 

Lastly, I want to make mention of the people of Ecuador, who I imagine have also experienced a lot happening in the past two months – I have not been able to hear how you are doing, but you are in my thoughts as well. I would love to see how you are making recovery happen!

One thought on “Making it happen

Leave a Reply

