Thoughts for My People

Sending homes away from homes!

Yesterday, I took a short trip back in time here:

 

LV_Logo_Exhibition

 

I traveled as far back as mid-1850’s when the French fashion giant LV was founded as an up-and-coming luggage maker. Their high-quality trunks quickly became the favourites of key figures in history as trips became longer to further destinations by more means… cars, trains, ships, and planes. They knew how to respond to the needs of their clients, no matter how demanding they were.

 

I am sure there were countless conversations that went like this:

 

“I’m going on a trip across the ocean and I need a trunk that will carry all my wardrobe.”

“Mais certainement!”

 

LV_Wardrobe_Trunk

Complete wardrobe trunk in Vuittonite canvas, circa 1914

 

“I want to take my kids out for a picnic – can you give me a trunk that contains everything I need?”

“Et voilà!”

 

LV_Picnic_Trunk

Picnic trunk in Vuittonite canvas, 1913

 

“I’ve been chosen as a member to go on an excavation in the deserts… you don’t think a portable bed is possible, do you?”

“Pas de problème!”

 

LV_Bed_Trunk

Bed trunk in Monogram canvas, circa 1900

 

With their superb craftsmanship and innovative creativity, they provided with their trunks homes away from homes for their clients. As I traveled back to present walking through the exhibition, I could not help but think how wonderful it would be for the people in my homeland who have been forced out of their homes by the big earthquake in mid-April to have these trunks right now, to make their stays away from home feel more at home.

 

Maybe you can join me in sending homes away from homes to my people?

 

Just as with previous get well messages which started with sending flower power, there is no need for you to do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you have items you always take on your trips to make you feel more at home whenever you are away from home, you would kindly share it with my people.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot of your home away from home and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know by leaving a comment?

 

Again, please do not feel you have to go out of your way and actually go on a trip! But if you have plans, or are taking an imaginary trip away from your busy life as you read through this post, let me know the must-have items you have put into your suitcase.

 

Thank you to everyone who visits here for a journey through my post(s). I do not have the same level of craftsmanship or creativity as the host of the exhibition, but I hope you can find something here that hits home… or at the very least makes you feel a little more at home while you stay.

 

Merci aussi à LV pour une exposition tellement fantastique. C’était un voyage plus amusant et très très inspirant!

 

Lastly, some trunks that could be for you…?

 

For all you writers,

 

LV_Desk_and_Typewriter

Left: desk trunk in natural cowhide, 1920; right: library trunk in Monogram canvas (with typewriter)

 

For the tea lovers,

 

LV_Tea_Cases

Top left: tea case in grained leather, once belonging to Sayajirao Gaekwad III, Maharajah of Baroda, 1926; top right: tea ceremony trunk; bottom: Jean Luce for the Sèvres Workshop earthenware tea set bearing the “Croissant d’Argent” imprint, Louis Audoin-Dubreuil’s emblem, circa 1920 to 1930

 

For lace and other handicraft artists,

 

LV_Decorative_Chests

Top: chest in bead-embroidered fabric; bottom: chest in lace and silk

 

And this one is especially for you, N!

 

LV_Guitar_Case

2 thoughts on “Sending homes away from homes!

    1. Oh, good, notewords – I thought you’d like the guitar 🙂
      I wish my photos told better how worn out, yet how well maintained, the trunks are – the craftsmen must’ve kept them in good shape so the owners could take them everywhere they went, feeling at home wherever they stayed. I am hoping my people in the affected regions will have similar support establishing their homes away from homes…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

