Thoughts for My People

Sending summer siesta!

Yesterday was what we call a “Mid-summer Sprout” day in my culture. It is so called because it is the time of the year this plant, whose name is pronounced exactly the same way in my mother tongue, grows in abundance:

 

Lizards_Tails_at_M_Garden

Lizard’s tails

 

The plant name means “in the midst of putting on make-up,” from the way only some its leaves turn partially white… oh, the imaginativeness of my ancestors to give it such a cute name! But beware, these pretty things are apparently toxic. So they believed that this was the time of the year that harmful plants grew thick and poison soil and water. In some region, they even thought that a mid-summer monster went around to spread poison, and forbid eating vegetables that grow on soil and drink water from wells on this date!

 

They also hurried to make sure they finished planting rice, our staple food, by then to avoid contamination by poison. A lot of hard work in times when they did not have agricultural equipment and machines to aid them… but if they were successful, it meant they could take a break and get some well-deserved rest.

 

My people in the regions affected by the big earthquakes two-and-a-half months ago have also been working very hard to get their lives back to normal. The aftershocks seem to be subsiding, but in recent weeks they have been hit by record rainfall followed by heat waves. I think they could use a bit of break and some well-deserved rest right about now. So, this week, I am going to suggest a place where they could take a summer siesta… how about here?

 

M_Garden_1

Under the trees, in the shades

 

Or maybe here?

 

M_Garden_2

By the pond, in tranquility

 

Or perhaps here!

 

M_Garden_3

Crayfish: “Stop bothering me, I’m taking a siesta in this cool water!”

 

This is the only botanical garden which first opened nearly two centuries ago that still exists today. It was designed by poets and painters back in the days, filled with flowers that are often depicted in their works flourishing in all seasons… and therefore, is called “One Hundred Flowers Garden.”

 

Maybe you can join me in sending candidate locations where my people can take a summer siesta?

 

As with all other get well messages which started with sending flower power, there is no need for you to do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you know places you think are best suited to replenish drained souls, you would kindly share it with my people.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot of your candidate locations for summer siesta and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know by leaving a comment?

 

Again, please do not go out of your way… unless it is in your mind or in cyberspace. Then, by all means, go anywhere out there and take a summer siesta with my people!

 

Thank you so much to everyone who comes here to take a break from whatever you are doing and read through my post(s). I hope that I am able to provide you with a place for siesta sometimes and offer you some seeds of thoughts that may some day sprout and flower in you!

3 thoughts on “Sending summer siesta!

    1. Yes, notewords, it is truly amazing – I can’t stress enough what a wonderful job generations of gardeners have done to keep the place in shape for so long! It inspired me to scribble this post, and made me feel like I was one of the founding poets / painters… for a moment, anyway 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

