Thoughts for My People

Sending sweet taste of first love!

We have a very thoughtful tradition around this time of the year in my culture, called “midsummer gifts.” We send gifts to those who are important to us, wishing their summer will pass without health or safety issues.

 

Midsummer_Gift

 

Gifts need not be expensive or elaborate, nor do they intend to demand anything in return; their one and only job is to show that you are thinking about the people you send them to… but sadly, not too many practice this tradition for anti-corruption reasons. Regulations have become increasingly strict on gift-giving worldwide, and I understand why, but I for one would like to see this tradition continue, because I really feel it makes us a little more caring and considerate while we choose what to send.

 

In any case, this week, I thought I would send my people who were affected by the big earthquakes three months ago a midsummer gift, to show they are still in my thoughts. But what should I choose?

 

Well, when I was growing up, I used to look forward to this one particular midsummer gift:

 

CALPIS

 

This is a sweet, milk-based beverage that is extremely popular to my people. Many of us remember it as the only sweet beverage we were allowed to drink while growing up, because it actually had healthy ingredients. It was once advertised as having the “sweet taste of first love,” capturing the hearts of curious children and reminiscent adults alike.

 

There is nothing special about this gift, but I think it portrays my wish very well – the founder of the manufacturer of this beverage decided to refer its taste to first love, because he thought first love is filled with hopes and dreams and he wanted his product to be the same. I wish that, when my people drink this beverage, they will think about what hopes and dreams they have for the homes they rebuild and lives they regain.

 

Maybe you can join me in sending some thoughtful midsummer gifts?

 

As with all previous get well messages which started with sending flower power, there is no need for you to do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you know of gifts that show how much you care about the people you are sending to, you would kindly share it with my people.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot of your midsummer gift and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know by leaving a comment?

 

Again, you do not have to go out of your way. Gifts need not be expensive or elaborate, or anything special… just with lots of thoughts, right?

 

Thank you to everyone for visiting this blog and reading through my post(s). Maybe it is not your first love, but I am grateful for your choosing to take time to come here, and I hope and dream that there is something, however small, for each and every one of you.

2 thoughts on “Sending sweet taste of first love!

Leave a Reply

