Thoughts for No One in Particular

Regarding you and me

When you are with me, maybe you make me feel different, that I am all alone.

Maybe I look different or sound different from you. Maybe I do not wear the same clothes or eat the same food as you. Maybe my likes and dislikes or values and beliefs do not match yours. But are these any reason to exclude and eliminate me from your surroundings?

 

… Maybe I am the different one here and now, but how can you be sure you will not be viewed as the odd one out somewhere else and in the future? And how would you like for me to treat you then?

 

When you are with me, maybe you make me feel helpless, that I have no way out.

Maybe I am in some way weaker than you. Maybe I am physically and/or cognitively less apt in some area than you. Maybe I am unable to do some things without advice and assistance from you. But are these any reason to leave me where I am or push me further down?

 

… Maybe I am the helpless one at this point of time and space, but how can you be sure you will not be stuck in a hole and unable to get out without help the next step you take? And how would you like for me to react there?

 

Maybe all differences are relative. Who is different, and by how much, depend on who you are and where you stand.

Maybe all powers act in reciprocals. No one can be better than others at everything, so we all need to offer and be offered help sometime.

 

Then, the next time you are with me, maybe you can make me feel accepted, that I can trust you with my heart.

Maybe you can make me feel safe, that I can hold on to you with my hands through good and bad.

Maybe you can make me feel alive, that I can exist with my dignity in this world that we both live in.

 

I promise to do the same when I am with you – maybe because I believe all lives are relevant, including yours.

 

A last note:

 

S_Pond_Lantern_Floating

S_Pond_Lantern_Floating_Lanterns

Lantern-floating ceremony at the lotus pond last weekend: we set adrift lanterns every summer in the hopes that their lights will soothe the souls of the dead and guide the way to peaceful rest.

 

So heartbreaking to hear that both the majority of victims and the assailant were youngsters… my deepest condolences for your losses, Munich.

Leave a Reply

