Thoughts for My People

Sending “house-cooling” wind chimes!

The heat is really getting to me, but my brain has not melted completely and I have not gone insane just yet… no worries, I know I am a day early this week!

 

One of the things that keeps me from going over the edge is the soothing cool sounds of wind chimes my people hang at the edges of eaves this time of the year. Last weekend, it was only a few days since the really hot and humid summer begun in my region, but I was already losing my mind. So, to chill out, I went to a wind chimes fair that was being held under a blue sky (I wonder if you noticed a little wind chime hanging at the corner of the roof in the photo?).

 

There were wind chimes made of a wide variety of materials, making very different sounds. For example, some were made of glasses…

 

N-D_Temple_Wind_Chimes_Glasses

Short, middle-pitched ting-a-ling-ling’s

(Left and middle: bubble glass; right: blown glass)

 

… others were metallic…

 

N-D_Temple_Wind_Chimes_Metallic

Long-lasting high-pitched r-i-i-i-ng’s

(Left: brass, middle and right: steel)

 

… and still others were ceramic.

 

N-D_Temple_Wind_Chimes_Ceramic

Dry clang’s of differing pitches, depending on the type of clay / glazing and thickness

(Left: firewood ashes are glazed on during firing; top right: tiny cracks are produced all around due to differing shrinkage between clay and glazing during firing; bottom right: created thinner and lighter than most ceramic products and with unique glaze colours)

 

(And although I did not see them here, we also have wind chimes made of wood, bamboo, and even charcoal! Can you imagine their sounds??)

 

It is even hotter and more humid in the Southwest region of my homeland, where the big earthquakes hit back in mid-April. Those affected are continuing to work to regain their everyday lives in this blistering heat, and many have now settled into their new (albeit temporary) homes. This week, I thought I could send them some wind chimes as housewarming… or rather, “house-cooling” gifts.

 

Maybe you can join me in sending “house-cooling” gifts to my people?

 

Just with other previous get well messages which started with sending flower power, nothing special or extraordinary is asked of you. Only that, if you know of things that could make them feel more comfortable, and feel cooler at the same time, in their new homes, you would kindly share it with my people.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot of your version of “house-cooling” gifts and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know by leaving a comment?

 

Once again, there is no need for you to go out of your way. I just want to know how you manage to stay calm, cool, and collected during your most unbearable season!

 

Thank you as always to all you visitors for coming here to read through my post(s). I hope you feel at home when you are here… it is always a pleasure to hear the sound of the chimes when you come through my doors!

 

N-D_Temple_Wind_Chimes_Piggie

Maybe this one goes oink oink??

Leave a Reply

