Thoughts for My People

Sending midsummer drinks and desserts!

We are supposed to be a couple of weeks into autumn on Chinese calendar in my homeland – winds are supposed to become a little cooler, a type of cicadae we call “sun-setter” (because they sing the loudest in the evening, just before nightfall) is supposed to start singing, and temperature is supposed to drop at night for fogs to start appearing in the woods and above waters. And in a couple of days, we will supposed to have passed the peak of summer.

 

But it is still H-O-T! Winds are still heated, I hear no “sun-setters” yet, and nights are still hard to get to sleep without air-conditioning. And the weather forecast says summer will be prolonged this year, so the peak of summer is still far ahead… a big polar bear *SIGH*

 

Every day, I am either so dehydrated I feel like a dried fruit or so heat-shocked I feel like melting ice cream. But I should not complain – it is worse in the areas affected by the big earthquake back in mid-April, with continuous “heat wave days” (temperature exceeds 35 °C or 95 °F during daytime) and “tropical nights” (temperature remains above 25 °C or 77 °F during nighttime), as we call them.

 

So, before my people there become dried up or melted away, I thought I would send them some beverage and sweets suited to have in midsummer:

 

Iced_Tea_and_Almond_Tofu

Iced tea and almond tofu, both in high demand in midsummer because they are very easy to take in even if you have no appetite.

 

Maybe you can join me in sending cool drinks and/or desserts to my people?

 

Just as with other get well messages which started with sending flower power, there is no need for you to do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you have recommendations or even recipes on beverages and/or sweets to have in midsummer, you would kindly share it with my people.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot of your cool drinks and/or desserts and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know by leaving a comment?

 

Again, no need for you to go out of your way. But what beverages and sweets make you feel alive again after coming out of the scorching sun? Are there scientific evidence that they are actually good to have when you are dehydrated or heat-shocked? (I believe green tea and almonds are categorized as mind-refreshing and “qi” (life energy)-nourishing agents in Chinese medicine, respectively.) Or do they make you feel recuperated through your five senses? I would love to know!

 

Thank you as always to all of you visitors for reading through my post(s). I am so grateful for your views and likes… they are my mind-refreshing and qi-nourishing agents and get me back up in no time even when I have my life sucked out of me or reduced to practically nothing. If you are ever in need of refreshments and nourishments, my iced tea and almond tofu are always here for you.

One thought on “Sending midsummer drinks and desserts!

Leave a Reply

