Thoughts for My People

Sending kahanas in mandalas!

I was taking a long walk today, to the part of my town I enjoy going but do not as often as I want to, when I noticed a tiny sign leading to a small gallery-café located at the end of a narrow alley. The few times I have been to this neighbourhood I never knew it existed, but today I was drawn to the place by this:

 

kahana_mandala_art_seeingwiththeheartseye

“Seeing with the mind’s eye,” Mandala Art by Ms. Kahana

***Please note this and all other works by her are posted here with her permission. Reproduction is prohibited***

 

At first, I did not really care what the art was about. I was only interested in its design… I thought I could learn something from it and someday be able to design my own tatting motives. I hid my ulterior motive (no pun intended!) and went up to the artist, Ms. Kahana, to get as much out of her as possible.

 

She taught me that Mandala Art is a kind of meditation, practiced by drawing mandala (Buddhist symbol representing the universe)-like designs. The only tools needed are a compass to draw concentric and overlapping circles, a protractor to divide the circles into equal parts of repeated elements, and sheets of black paper and different colours of gel ink pens are all the materials used. It can easily fit into your bag and squeeze in between your busy schedule. It brought about a change in her life, and that is why her artist name is Kahana – a Hawaiian word meaning “turning point.”

 

kahana_mandala_art_cherryblossoms

“Cherry blossoms” by Ms. Kahana, her most favourite, as she dedicated it to her baby niece who was born around the time cherry blossoms began blooming this year

 

As I listened, I saw more and more commonalities between her artwork and my tatting. I tat when I want to get away from everything and introspect. Tatting only requires shuttles and threads to get started, and it can be done anywhere, at any time. It has quickly taken over a large part of my own little universe, and although I have yet to see a dramatic turn in my life, it has certainly contributed to shifts in my mindset…to see the big picture but also pay attention to details, to do as I please but do it with confidence and determination to see it through to the end, and to be more patient and tolerant of myself but also be less perfectionistic and forgiving to myself.

 

kahana_mandala_art_genuinetrust

“Genuine trust” by Ms. Kahana, my favourite, as it looks like the same amount of genuine trust in one’s own abilities went into this artwork as it would in an intricate lacework

 

And I thought, maybe seeing Mandala Art will encourage my people who were affected by the big earthquakes back in mid-April to seek kahanas, or turning points, in their mandalas, or their own universes… or at least find something, like Mandala Art, that can soothe their minds that have been under prolonged stress.

 

So, maybe you can join me in sending your kahanas in your mandalas to my people?

 

As with all other previous get well messages which started with sending flower power, I am not asking you to do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you have stories you would like to tell on how something turned your or your loved ones’ (humans or animals!) universes around, you would kindly share it with my people.

 

Maybe you can tell me about the memorable turning points in your universes by leaving a comment?

 

Like I said, you do not have to go out of your way. But I believe seeing and hearing others successfully pass their turning points in their lives can push your back and make you feel like you can do the same. I think they have rippling effects far beyond your wildest imagination!

 

kahana_mandala_art_movingoutinwaves

“Moving out in waves” by Ms. Kahana – she commented “someone’s goodness spreads out in waves and reaches many others, and in turn get them to spread their goodness out in waves”

 

Thank you to all my visitors, the occasionals and the usuals alike, for reading through my post(s). I am so grateful for all the good vibes I am receiving from each and every one of you! My waves are still very weak and slow-moving, so they do not have the strength to make turning points appear in your lives, but I hope you do not leave here completely turned off…

8 thoughts on “Sending kahanas in mandalas!

    1. Hello, tottietalkscrafts (or should I refer to you by your name?) – thank you for stopping by to leave a comment! Yes, the artworks were so lovely, I just had to share them here 🙂 Maybe you’ll find one of them “in there” in your crafts some day?

      Like

    1. Great artworks, aren’t they, notewords – can you tell I haven’t been able to keep my mind off of tatting ever since coming back to it? They all look like doilies to me 😉
      Thank you also for reblogging this post at your site!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

