Thoughts for My People

Sending teeny tiny little autumn!

There’s somebody, yes somebody, this somebody found it,

Teeny autumn, tiny autumn, little autumn, found it.

 

This is the beginning of a well-known children’s song in my homeland, “Found little autumn” [my translation, lyrics and title]. It is interpreted as a song about little bits of evidence of autumn caught by the songwriter’s eyes in the scenery, by his ears in the sounds carried by the winds, and by his heart in his memories that no others noticed.

 

I felt a hint of autumn in the air the other day, smelling the scent of sweet osmanthus. So I thought I would find my own little autumn in my backyard (well, almost):

 

r_garden_sweet_osmanthus

 

Garden gates… and sweet osmanthus. Mmm, such a lovely scent! But they were not hard to notice, so I looked around some more.

 

r_garden_pine_cones

 

Bridge across the pond… and pine cones. And so many of them! Nobody took notice at first, but as I started to take photos, others became aware of them as well and it was no longer just my own little autumn. So I looked even further.

 

r_garden_red_leaves

 

A chicken’s comb?! No, the first of the leaves turning colours. At last, a little autumn no one else noticed!

 

And while I was looking around, I noticed another thing – autumn is surely here, but it is still so faint, it can easily be overlooked if we are too absorbed in our daily lives. But when we are able to catch a glimpse of it, however little it may be, it can become a great moment to catch a breath. My people affected by the big earthquakes back in mid-April may still be very busy rebuilding their daily lives, but I am wishing that the little bits of autumn I caught will allow them to catch a breath.

 

Maybe you can join me in sending little bits of autumn you have found to my people?

 

As with all other previous get well messages which started with sending flower power, you need not do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you go out for a walk today and find a little autumn of your own, you would kindly share it with my people.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot of your little autumn and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know by leaving a comment?

 

Once again, no need for you to go out of your way… but maybe take an extra moment out of your daily lives to look around and enjoy the season passing.

 

Thank you to all my visitors who come here to read through my post(s). I scribble about anything and everything that passes through my mind – they are usually such little bits, I am always quite amazed, and oh so very grateful, that anyone ever notices them! I can only hope they give you little pleasant feelings when you find them…

 

r_garden_little_autumn

Little pleasant feelings I found and brought home.

4 thoughts on “Sending teeny tiny little autumn!

    1. Of course it’s spring for you, notewords – how could I forget!? Have you found any bits of little spring, or does rain need to come first? Turn of the seasons, no matter which season, is an exciting time, but it’s also easy to get sick, so be sure to take good care of yourself and your family 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You know, we’re having a very wet autumn so far in my country, I wonder if it’s in any way related to your dry spring? How nice it would be if we could cancel out each other’s weather so that both our seasons can advance!

        Like

Leave a Reply

