Thoughts for My People

Sending Lady Luck!

This weekend, my neighbouring district is holding an autumn festival. This is the eighteenth year they are holding it, and this year’s theme is sending continued love and support to the regions affected by the big earthquakes six months ago, with part of the proceeds going to their relief charity.

 

As I took a walk in this district, I found quite a few ladies with lots of fortune. For example:

 

lady_luck_poster_girl

 

She is this year’s poster girl for this event (a woodblock print). She must be the luckiest girl in the district, being chosen as the symbol and having her pictures posted on billboards all over! (I found this one at a bus station offering free rides within the district during the event.)

 

lady_luck_welcome_lady

 

She is a porcelain doll sitting in the display window of a coffee shop to welcome in customers. In other words, she invites fortune and prosperity into her shop. I think that is why she is treated very well, sitting on a comfy fluffy cushion! (I found another doll like her in the shop next door – could be her sister – but she was too shy to have a photo taken of her… in other words, she was half hidden behind products on sale.)

 

lady_luck_roly_poly

 

And she is a roly-poly toy I brought home, dressed in stencil-dyed paper. (The paper she is standing on is also stencil-dyed.) Roly-poly toys are thought to be lucky toys in my culture because they keep getting back up no matter how many times they are pushed over, as if to recover from all misfortunes. And she is covered with “吉” which means good luck in my mother tongue… can you spot them? (Hint: they are a bit deformed, the top and bottom halves are in different colours, and some are upside down.)

 

This week, I wish to send these ladies of luck to the affected. I think they will do a great job being posted everywhere to remind ourselves to keep them in our thoughts, to welcome in all love and support from around the world, and lead the way in getting back up over and over again.

 

Maybe you can join me in sending Lady Luck to my people?

 

As with all other previous get well messages which started with sending flower power, there is no need to do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you have a Lady Luck who helps you overcome life’s many adversities, you would kindly share it with my people.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot (with permission, if necessary) of your Lady Luck and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know by leaving a comment?

 

Once again, please do not go out of your way… Lady Luck can sometimes be quite capricious, so you might want to appear nonchalant, as though you just happened to stumble upon her by sheer chance!

 

Thank you to all my visitors for coming here and reading through my post(s), and sending weekly get well messages to my people with me. I feel very lucky to have you back me up with your views and likes. I brought home today the new roly-poly Lady Luck not just for me but for all of you who stop by… I hope she brings about good luck to us all.

Leave a Reply

