Thoughts for My People

Sending sextet blossoms of faithful dedication!

Anyone got their Christmas advent calendar out? Well, mine is not exactly in a calendar format so I do not get to open a new window every day, but I am counting down the days by turning a new leaf of a tatting book with snowflake patterns.

 

So when I woke up this morning, I turned a new leaf enthusiastically to find what is in there for me today. But as I looked at the pattern I became very intimidated… lots and lots of picots and long long chains! These are two things I can never make consistent, so I came this close to ending this tatting advent calendar.

 

But I kept coming back to it. The odds were stacked against me, and I was pretty sure I would be frustrated all the way, but I did not want to give up only three days into the project – if I did, I would regret missing the remaining twenty-one!

 

As I gave some more looks at the pattern to study it further, it started to look familiar. I searched my memory, and I remembered taking a look at it and studying it just a few weeks ago! Then came an idea on how to make it a less miserable tatting experience, but unfortunately, my memory of it had already become a little fuzzy, so I decided to go see it again.

 

This is where I went…

 

s-e_garden_illumination

My dream home, in Christmas decoration! (Actually, the garden was illuminated so the autumn foliage could be enjoyed at nighttime as well… the Christmas tree look-alikes are pine trees covered with protectors from snow.)

 

… and this is what I saw to refresh my memory.

 

s-e_garden_camellia_sasanqua

Camellia sasanqua – those that grow in this garden are special, as they were one of six kinds of flowers which, until fairly recently, were cultivated only in the region most affected by the big earthquakes back in mid-April (the flowers are collectively called the “sextet blossoms of Higo,” Higo being the old name of this region)

 

I quickly returned home and started tatting… then I suddenly remembered another thing: snowflakes are also known as “sextet blossoms” in my mother tongue, as they resemble flowers with six petals. Hmm, I have come a full circle!

 

lb_third_day_of_december

Is it a snowflake, or is it a Higo sasanqua? I say it’s a little bit of both!

 

I could not have come through with this piece had it not been for my faithful dedication to this project. I am certain I will have many more challenges to face in the remaining twenty-one, but I think my faithful dedication will allow me to find ways to “overcome all hardships” – the language of flowers for sasanqua. And I want to share this experience with my people in the earthquake-affected regions, so they can believe in their faithful dedication to recover and overcome any hardships along the way.

 

Maybe you can join me in sending faithful dedications to my people?

 

As with all previous get well messages which started with sending flower power, nothing special or extraordinary is asked of you. Only that, if you have had an experience in which you kept your faith and dedication in what you do to get you through adversities, you would kindly share it with my people.

 

Maybe you can tell me about your faithful dedication by leaving a comment below?

 

Once again, please do not feel you have to go out of your way. For all I know, you may have faced a great challenge just to get here… in which case, simply telling me how you climbed over mountains and swam across oceans to get here would do it!

 

Thank you as always to all my visitors for reaching this place and reading through my post(s). It may be a long way back, so here, take a seat and have a hot bowl of tea I made for you before you go!

 

tea_and_sasanqua

Sasanqua are called “mountain tea flowers” in my mother tongue – the tea is not made of sasanqua leaves, but I kinda like how everything in this post is interconnected in some way!

 

And one more individual I cannot leave out when it comes to my dream home…

 

s-e_garden_steiff_kumamon

A Steiff Kumamon, how cute!

5 thoughts on “Sending sextet blossoms of faithful dedication!

    1. Glad you liked, notewords 😀 – I was quite sure the colours would work great, but I was worried they wouldn’t go well with the pattern, as it’s supposed to be a snowflake.
      I actually saw some of the Craftree members working on this book last December on their sites (I was not aware they were members) and I wanted to tat along, but I didn’t have the skills nor the faithful dedication that I now have back then. It’s unfortunate that I’m a year late, but I’m happy I’m only a year late 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pattern: “Third Day of December” by L.B.
    Thread: Lizbeth by Handy Hands (cotton lace thread, size #80, colours [from inner to outer rounds] #170 “Pineapple Parfait” – variegated light yellow, medium daffodil, medium buttercup; #176 “Pink Blossoms” – variegated medium to very light azalea pink; #138 “Leafy Greens” – variegated medium leaf green, pine green, medium olive, light leaf green)
    Size: about 5.5 centimetres or slightly over 2 inches

    Like

Leave a Reply

