Thoughts for My People

Sending cozy and comfy Christmas stockings!

I like this time of the year. Most streets and buildings in town are lit up with festive illuminations, jolly music can be heard everywhere you go, and people seem to become a little more giving and forgiving. But there is one thing I cannot like about this time of the year – my cold feet!

 

Most places in my town, including my home and workplace, do not have central heating system. Rooms are typically warmed by air conditioners at room corners near the ceiling, but warm air has the tendency to rise, so the temperature near the floor remains cooler than that you set the air conditioning to achieve.

 

We have some unique furniture to keep us warm, like tables with heaters placed beneath the tabletop and covered with blanket, and carpets with electrical wires embedded which heat up when plugged in. But while they can keep my feet warm, they will not let me move around, so they are not too practical.

 

So, until someone invents wearable foot-warming device for me, I have to rely on the good ol’ socks and slippers – sometimes layers of them – to remedy my cold feet. And as I was putting on today’s pair, I got an idea on what to send this week to my people affected by the big earthquakes back in mid-April… what else but Christmas stockings at this time of the year!

 

mm_holiday_stocking

 

It has been a very rough and tough year for them, going through not only the big earthquakes in spring but record rainfalls and typhoons in summer and mountain eruption in autumn. I thought it would be nice if they had a few extra Christmas stockings to hang, so they could be stuffed with gifts that will make them have a cozy and comfy holiday season.

 

Maybe you can join me in sending cozy and comfy Christmas stockings to my people?

 

With all other previous get well messages which started with sending flower power, you do not have to do anything special or extraordinary of you. Only that, if you already have your Christmas stockings out and dangling (or decided to get them out after reading this post), you would kindly share it with my people.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot of your Christmas stockings and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know by leaving a comment?

 

Once again, you need not go out of your way – or anywhere your feet get cold (literally or figuratively!). It is that time of the year to start decorating your room, and I would like it very much if you could lend a hand in decorating the rooms of my people as well… it’ll be fun, I’m sure!

 

Thank you as always to everyone for coming here and reading through my post(s). Your views and likes are like gifts in my Christmas stocking! Hang your stockings, and maybe Santa Snowygrounds will visit you this holiday season with a little gift… maybe something like this:

 

lb_tenth_day_of_december_and_stocking

Oops, too big to stuff it in the stocking…

 

If you have any requests, feel free to leave a comment below!

3 thoughts on “Sending cozy and comfy Christmas stockings!

  1. =Christmas stocking=
    Pattern: “Holiday Stocking” by M.M. aka Tatman (tatted two of them and joined at outer picots, and added an edging to make it an actual stocking – not much you can stuff in it, though…)
    Thread: Daruma lace thread by Yokota (cotton lace thread, [stocking] size #80, colour #14 – dark pink (doubled); [leaf] size #80, colour #6 – fern green (doubled); [edging] size #40, colour #2 – ecru)
    Size: about 6.5 centimetres or slightly over 2 1/2 inches in length

    =Snowflake=
    Pattern: “Tenth Day of December” by L.B.
    Thread: Lizbeth by Handy Hands (cotton lace thread, size #80, colour #107 “Tropical Fruit” – variegated dark seagreen, light mint, medium and light melon)
    Size: about 6.5 centimetres or slightly over 2 1/2 inches

    Like

Leave a Reply

