Thoughts for My People

Sending the best saved for last!

I do not belong to or practice any specific religion, but I very much enjoy Christmas hymns and carols. Every year, I look for Christmas concerts or church services to attend on Christmas Eve. This year, I went to a church in a nearby district and admired the angelic voices of the church choir.

 

christmas_carols

I did not get to take photos at the church, but it looked very much like this – I found this display at a jewelry shop near my place on my way home

 

On the very last number, a young lady in the choir stepped out and performed solo. I think they saved her till the end to make the service a memorable one… she sounded like a professional opera singer! Her performance was definitely the best of the evening and one to remember.

 

The year is nearing its end, with only one more week to go. It has been quite a rough year for my people affected by the big earthquakes back in mid-April. Their lives literally crumbled overnight, and many of them were forced to spend the rest of the year struggling to recover and rebuild. Exhausted, maybe they are looking back on the year and seeing very little good in it.

 

But there is still a week to go. Maybe the best is being saved for the very last, to replenish them with additional might to carry on strong in the new year. So, this week, I thought I would send them the best that has been saved for last.

 

lb_twentyfourth_day_of_december

 

This is the last of the snowflakes of my tatting advent calendar… PHEW, I made it on schedule! I took extra care tatting it (especially with beads – I was so nervous that I may have messed up on the order I threaded them) and tried my best to make it the best. What do you think, have I succeeded?

 

snowflake_tree_framed

(This is the little something I had planned to do once the full set was complete, N… a snowflake Christmas tree, and framed, as you suggested!)

 

And with this best saved for last, I wish that their hearts and homes will be filled with happiness and joy this holiday season.

 

Maybe you can join me in sending the best saved for last to my people?

 

As with all but one previous get well messages which started with sending flower power, I am not asking you to do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you have something really good and nice saved until the very end of the year, or a morsel of your favourite food on your supper plate saved for the last bite, you would kindly share it with my people.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot of your best saved for last and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know by leaving a comment?

 

Once again, there is no need for you to go out of your way. You are probably attending family gatherings (or attending to family matters at these gatherings?) right about now, so you must be quite occupied (or preoccupied!). I will gladly wait until the very last day of the year to hear what you have saved for last – it will be the best news for me saved for last!

 

And in this holiday season, I wish to send to all my visitors a big heartfelt “THANK YOU!” for stopping by and reading through my post(s). It has been a holiday season throughout the year for me, receiving your views and likes – I still cannot believe that so many of you have found me at such a remote and secluded place over the past year. You have all become my guiding star for my scribbles!

 

hs_simple_christmas_star

This is the star at the top of the snowflake Christmas tree shown above

5 thoughts on “Sending the best saved for last!

    1. I’m glad you liked, notewords – at first I simply took a photo of the snowflakes in a tree shape, but as I was editing I suddenly remembered your suggestion to have them framed. It’s only digitally framed, but if they look lovely, they definitely have you to thank 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Susanne – I had the idea to make a Christmas tree out of the snowflakes from the beginning, but some of them REALLY tried my patience and there were a number of times I came very close to making holes in the tree! I am totally drained right now, but your kind words are replenishing me fast 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. =Snowflake=
    Pattern: “Twentyfourth Day of December” by L.B.
    Thread: Daruma Home Thread by Yokota (cotton hand sewing thread, size #30, colour white)
    Beads: light green beads from Miyuki Round Rocailles mixed beads #3065, size 11/0 and red beads from Miyuki Round Rocailles mixed beads #3064, size 11/0
    Size: about 7.5 centimetres or slightly less than 3 inches

    =Star=
    Pattern: “Simple Christmas Star” by H.S.
    Thread: Country Mama Metallic Thread by Yokota (polyester embroidery thread, size #40, colour #801 – gold)
    Beads: yellow beads from Miyuki Round Rocailles mixed beads #3064, size 11/0
    Size: about 4.5 centimetres or slightly over 1 3/4 inches on the long side

    Like

Leave a Reply

