Thoughts for My People

Sending knit winter hats with pom-poms!

Yesterday, we entered the period of the “Greater Cold” on Chinese calendar – roughly two weeks of the year when the weather is at its coldest. It has been a relatively cold winter already, with loads of snow up north (not cold enough and not enough snow for a polar bear like me, though!), but yesterday marked the coldest day of the season across my homeland, including the areas most affected by the big earthquakes last April.

 

It broke my heart when I saw on the news a few days ago that many of the affected, displaced from their homes and now dwelling in temporary housing, do not feel warm enough and are placing cardboards on windows to keep what little warmth they got from escaping via heat transfer. How cold they must be feeling, not just due to the weather but because we lacked consideration for what they are really in need for and deserted them in the bitter cold all by themselves…

 

So, this week, I wanted to send them something that would provide an extra layer of warmth. And this is what I found in my backyard (not!):

 

f_garden_woven_straw_enclosure

 

A knit winter hat with a pom-pom on top? Well, take a look inside:

 

f_garden_peony_within_woven_straw_enclosure

 

It is a woven straw enclosure (sorry, I could not find the appropriate English term for this structure… can anyone help me out?) to guard the winter peonies from cold wind and frost and snow! I am not sure if it is intended, but it looks like the snow gear my people (little girls as cute as these peonies stand out especially in my mind – they were called “little snow fairies”) used to wear in the olden days. Functional and fashionable… a good choice to send this week, do you not think?

 

So, maybe you can join me in sending your functional and fashionable, and of course your favourite (who cares if no one else approves of it!), knit winter hat with pom-pom to my people in the affected areas?

 

As with all but one previous get well messages which started with sending flower power,  nothing special or extraordinary is required of you. Only that, if you have a hat that resembles this woven straw enclosure for peonies in any way, you would kindly share it with my people.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot of your knit winter hat with pom-pom and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know by leaving a comment?

 

Once again, please do not go out of your way. If you are experiencing a cold winter right now, just as we are, you probably have one hanging on the rack, waiting to warm you up. And if you are on the other side of the hemisphere observing heat waves, maybe a photo of a winter hat will actually make you feel cooler…

 

Thank you all my visitors for finding me here and reading through my post(s). You guard me from feeling deserted and bitter cold with your likes, and warm me from the very core of my heart with your comments!

Leave a Reply

