Thoughts for My People

None of your p—- hats

Consecutive posts on hats, say you? Well, I did not plan it, but I felt it important to scribble about hats again today, so bear with me, folks!

 

I was reading up on domestic and international news and learned that a certain type of hats were being worn everywhere around the world this weekend… and I wondered, really EVERYWHERE? In my homeland, too??

 

So I did some research, and although I could not confirm whether any of these specific hats were worn, I did find out that we were included in the “everywhere.” And owing to the time difference, we were one of the firsts to be included!

 

To tell you the truth, I was very surprised by this finding.

Maybe because my people are not known for protesting openly about anything, let alone about a touchy subject like women’s rights.

Maybe because it is a subject deeply rooted and intertwined with our Asian culture and customs that we do not usually discuss it on the same grounds as the West do.

And maybe because the protest originated from a certain political figure across the ocean, remaining ambiguous on our stance seemed to be the action to take for us.

 

So, maybe I thought my people would think of this globally sisterly march as something that was none of our business.

 

But, as I read on about how we came to be included in the “everywhere,” I was very disappointed.

Maybe because it was organized not by my people but by a couple of tourists who just happened to travel to our land at this particular time.

Maybe because it took place in the wee hours and the turnout was much smaller compared to the subsequent ones observed everywhere else around the world – by a couple of orders, at least – of which, the vast majority were reported to be ex-pats.

And maybe because I did not find any of our major media covering this story.

 

Last summer, during the election campaign to choose the new Governor of our Capital, a female candidate (who eventually won by a landslide) was attacked repeatedly by her opposing political figures for her femininity. And although just about every domestic (and more than a few international) media covered the story, no one made it their business to openly protest for women’s rights.

 

Then, maybe we are seeing some progress, albeit a very small one, having an event like this organized and permitted to be implemented on our land. Maybe we have finally stopped turning a blind eye to the very thick glass ceiling we have in place for our women, and started to at least not obstruct efforts to shatter it.

 

Maybe we saw none of your p—- hats this time, but maybe the day is not so far for us to quit thinking that it is none of our bees’ wax.

 

Hats off to the two ladies who organized the march in our homeland, and to all who participated in chilly weather! I wish more of my people, including myself, got involved from an earlier stage on such an important subject everywhere around the world. But I am hopeful that there will be many more chances ahead to address it, even within the context of our Asian culture and customs, now that a way seems to be opening up in front of us.

Leave a Reply

