Thoughts for My People

Sending a flourish of trumpets announcing the arrival of spring!

First of all, Happy Chinese New Year to my neighbouring countries and anyone around the world celebrating it… may lucky stars shine high above and fortune smile big upon you!

 

It is not particularly celebrated in my homeland, but I like to find ways to join in on the festivities somehow. Well, this year, I thought I heard a flourish of trumpets welcoming in the Chinese New Year and the spring season following close by, so I followed the sound… and came to the garden adjacent to the town hall:

 

k_garden_daffodils1

Daffodils: “C’mon, everyone, come out of the house and join the celebration!”

 

Daffodils may also be known as Narcissus in the West, giving an impression that they are too self-loving, constantly bending down to gaze at their own pretty reflection in the water. But in my culture, they are called “water wizard” and loved by so many for the stern manner in which they stand tall even in bitter cold, but also possessing a gentle side in their soft fragrance.

 

They were also called “golden cups on silver saucers” in the olden days for their appearance (love the imaginativeness of my ancestors!), and thus, are quite often chosen as the flower to have on festive occasions when in bloom.

 

k_garden_daffodils2

Daffodils: “Give a toast and drink up!”

 

One other alias is “flower in snow,” as they grow strongly even in deep snow, holding their heads high to announce loud and clear the arrival of spring. It is a seasonal reference for late winter frequently used to symbolize resilience and signs of better things to come.

 

k_garden_daffodils3

Daffodils: “Hmm… no iris in the fields and no wisteria on the trellis (two of the flowers this garden is famous for)… what to do?”

 

k_garden_daffodils4

Daffodils: “We have an idea – why don’t we play a fanfare to tell them that spring is coming!”

 

My people affected by the big earthquakes last April may be feeling the cold weather to be especially bitter this winter – not just physically but also emotionally. But I want them to remain hopeful, that a season of warmth and brightness and new growth will surely come to them.

 

So, maybe this week, you can join me in sending a loud flourish of trumpets to announce the arrival of spring to my people?

 

As with all but one previous get well messages which started with sending flower power,  you are not asked to do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you have a wizardly something or someone or some words / phrases that can instantly and always encourage and excite and elate you to keep your hopes high, you would kindly share it with my people.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot of your flourish of trumpets and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know by leaving a comment?

 

Once again, there is no need for you to go out of your way. But I will be waiting for you here with “golden cups on silver saucers” to give a toast of gratitude for your contribution… does this not sound enticing?

 

Thank you to everyone who comes here to read through my post(s). You give me warm feelings and enlightenment and opportunity for growth with your views and likes and comments. I may not greet you with a flourish of trumpets every time you stop by, but there is a flurry of appreciation in my heart every time I see your footprint!

3 thoughts on “Sending a flourish of trumpets announcing the arrival of spring!

    1. Thank you so very much for your kind thoughts, Susanne – it really means a lot to us!
      The weather is still wintry here, but we’re just a few days away from welcoming the First Day of Spring on Chinese calendar… confusing, I know 😦 Our daffodils must be the kind that blooms much earlier than yours, but I think the trumpet tunes they play are always cheerful and uplifting, whether in winter or spring 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

