Thoughts for My People

Sending freedom to bloom however you wish!

It was not the best day to go for a walk, as the “first of spring” that blew yesterday usually entails the return of harsh wintry weather. But I thought I smelled a scent of early spring blowing by along with that gust, so I decided to take a short walk in my backyard (not!)… and look what I found!

 

f_garden_red_and_white_plums

Red and white plum blossoms in bloom

 

Generally, the red and white blossoms bloom on different trees, but there is a rare kind that can have both:

 

f_garden_however_you_wish

 

I could not get any closer than this (I need to seriously consider getting a better camera!), but can you tell that the encircled branch has both red and white blossoms?

 

This kind is called “However You Wish,” because no one can control how they bloom. Not only do they bloom a mixture of red and white blossoms (and sometimes marbled blossoms, having different coloured petals!) unlike any other plum trees, the ratio of the mix changes every year!

 

I was so intrigued by this wondrous kind, I stood in front of it staring and smelling for more than half an hour… and I think I upset this little one for hogging:

 

f_garden_plum_and_cat

Cat: “Haven’t you had enough yet? Here, let me break off a branch so you can take it and move over!”

Me: “No, no, don’t do that! Then it wouldn’t be “However You Wish” any more…”

 

Maybe it sometimes frustrate the gardeners, and garden-lovers, to see the garden bloom (or not bloom) so freely.

But maybe sometimes it is that freedom to bloom however they wish that leads to fantastic results no one could ever imagine.

 

I am hearing that more and more rubbles are being cleared so that reconstruction of houses and towns can get going in the regions affected by the big earthquakes last April. I cannot imagine what it is like to see a substantial part of your life getting discarded, leaving you only with vacant land and hollow hearts.

 

But maybe it is a chance for my people to build new lives, however they wish. They can take however much time to dream and then make come true their future – and they can be assured, no one, not even a cat, will ever tell them to move over!

 

So, maybe you can join me this week in sending freedom to bloom however you wish to my people?

 

As with all but one previous get well messages which started with sending flower power, you are not asked to do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you have something in your life that became more than you ever imagined because you did it however you wished, you would kindly share it with my people.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot of your “However You Wish” and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know by leaving a comment?

 

Once again, you need not go out of your way… if you did, that would not be “However You Wish” any more! Please do not break off a branch from your life – but if it is blooming freely, I will make sure to stand in front of it and take time to savour it with all my senses!

 

Thank you to everyone who comes by here and reads through my post(s), old and new. I do not actively advertise my site, but you must have smelled something that you like to come all the way here. You are welcome to stay however long you wish – I sincerely hope you will enjoy my scribbles!

 

f_garden_adonis

Look what else I found, to bring back for you – “flowers of happiness and prosperity,” as we call them. I suppose they too are quite the “However You Wish”… you just cannot control when and where they bloom!

3 thoughts on “Sending freedom to bloom however you wish!

    1. Thank you, notewords – nature is uncontrollably unforgiving sometimes, but I find that it can also be uncontrollably invigorating… these beautiful and lovely-scented blossoms always get me excited and inspired 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

