Thoughts for My People

Sending buzzing bees busily collecting nectar of cheerfulness!

Everyone, be prepared to be overwhelmed by yellow today! Maybe it would be better to dim your computer screen or put on a pair of sunglasses, or any other way you can think of to protect your eyes from potential damages caused by excess yellow-ness.

 

Are you ready?

 

Are ya sure??

 

You shouldn’t take my words lightly!

 

Well, you’ve been warned… so here it comes:

 

H_Garden_Rapeseed_Field

 

This is a field of rapeseed flowers at this garden, making it a must-visit spot for natives and visitors alike in this season. Actually, they have already passed full bloom, as you can tell by these fat bean pods…

 

H_Garden_Rapeseed_Beanpods

 

… but they are still very vibrantly yellow, are they not? Actually, if I came a little earlier, when the plum trees at the back of the rapeseed field were still in bloom, it would have been a little easier on the eyes. Just to give you an idea, here are the last of the plum blossoms with rapeseed flowers:

 

H_garden_Rapeseeds_and_Plums

 

But I had to come now, while we are in the period of five days or so just before the Spring Equinox, referred to as the season when “caterpillars become butterflies” on Chinese calendar arranged to match our climate. You see, caterpillars were called “rapeseed bugs” in the olden days, so I had high hopes that I would see butterflies dancing joyously in the cheerfully yellow field.

 

Much to my disappointment, I could not find a single butterfly flapping its wings. But I did see an army of working bees busily collecting nectar from rapeseed flowers…

 

H_garden_Rapeseeds_and_WorkingBees

Left bee: “Ah, the sweet taste of cheerfulness, mmm!”

Centre bee: “I gotta keep digging deeper…”

Right bee: “Must… fly… further… into… the… field… for… more…”

 

… and an occasional queen-like bee taking its sweet time catching some ray.

 

H_garden_Rapeseeds_and_QueenlikeBees

“Hey, you’re blocking the light! Make sure you photograph me pretty, will you?”

 

My people affected by the big earthquakes last April have lost a large portion of their fields of joy and happiness, and they have not yet been able to grow them back. Maybe it is much more appropriate for us to become working bees to send them some of the cheerfulness we collect from our intact fields, than be butterflies and dance around without care or consideration for them.

 

Maybe you can join me in sending working bees to collect nectar of cheerfulness to my people?

 

As with all but one previous get well messages which started with sending flower power, there is no need for you to do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you have freshly collected nectar of cheerfulness in stored your honey stomachs, or know someone who does, you would kindly share them with my people.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot of your nectar of cheerfulness and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know how you collected it by leaving a comment?

 

Once again, do not go out of your way – if and when you are ready to share, I will come fly by your nest to receive the nectar!

 

Thank you to all you busy bees buzzing by my blog to read through my post(s). I am not sure how much nectar of cheerfulness I have been able to produce, but I would dance with joy if you find some patches of my field to be so overwhelmingly yellow that you had to take measures to protect your eyes from damages!

6 thoughts on “Sending buzzing bees busily collecting nectar of cheerfulness!

  1. No spring here yet so I welcomed your display of sunny yellow flowers. We had an enormous snow-storm on Wednesday and there are drifts of white everywhere. An uneasy transition to spring. Still, I send hope to those in Japan struggling to recover from last year’s earthquake.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been meaning to ask how you’re doing, Susanne – I was worried, and a little envious, of all the snow you were getting ⛄ Glad I could add some colour to your view… it’s the least I can do to repay you for kindly keeping my people in your thoughts 😉 Thank you always!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello, and welcome, Dina – thank you for your many visits and likes, it’s so nice to finally hear from you! I’m very flattered by your kind words… you encourage me to keep trying to scribble better and take lovelier photos 😉 (and learn to insert new emoji’s! 🌺 )

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

