Thoughts for My People

What would have been the March 4, 2017 post: Sending little big thoughtfulness!

On March 4th, I went to a Spring Festival held in a nearby district to help out this group give tea services. It was a proper but not formal occasion, so I thought even an inexperienced apprentice of a different school like me could be of some help.

 

(By “proper but not formal,” I mean tea is served the proper way – tea for the first three guests are made in the tea room, while the rest of the guests are served with tea made in the back room – but not formal because the service was given free to everyone who wished to come, even to first-timers as young as toddlers.)

 

The back room is quite small (usually about half the size of the tea room, from my experience) but constantly busy, not only making tea but serving them as well as the sweets, and doing the dishes. In addition, water is boiled at all times… I think you can easily imagine how hot it gets and how high a risk dehydration is for the back room staff!

 

So, on my way back from lunch break, I brought back a few cold bottled beverages, together with some paper cups because it is not a pretty sight to see people dressed in traditional wear drink straight out of the bottle. I was taught to do so by my former teacher when I acted as her back room staff when she held tea services, so I thought very little of this.

 

But as I make this post on March 25, 2017, I received a copy of the latest newsletter prepared by this group, in which the teacher wrote about how impressed she was by my “thoughtfulness,” especially by the paper cups! I was very surprised, but extremely humbled, by her acknowledgement of my little thought as a big thoughtfulness, because my little thoughts are often times taken to be too subtle to be received as show of thoughtfulness.

 

As time passes, it becomes harder and harder to keep my people affected by the big earthquakes last April in our thoughts. It feels nearly impossible to do something thoughtful for them, because we hear less and less of how they are doing. But I think I learned from this occasion that it is possible for a little thought of one person to be seen as big thoughtfulness by many in need.

 

So, maybe you can join me in sending little big thoughtfulness to my people?

 

As with all but one previous get well messages which started with sending flower power, I am not asking you to do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you have a story about little thoughts turning into big thoughtfulness, either by you or by others around you, you would kindly share them with my people.

 

Maybe you can tell me about it in the comments below?

 

Once again, there is no need for you to go out of your way – if you did, it will not be a little thought any more!

 

Thank you to everyone who takes the time to read through my post(s). Maybe it is only a little fraction out of your life, but I find your views and likes to be BIG thoughtfulness shown by you. I will be the first to admit to not being a very thoughtful person (in fact, I usually try to appear unthoughtful to my people – I will explain myself in another post), but with your help, I am hopeful that I can turn my little weekly thoughts for the affected into big thoughtfulness!

Leave a Reply

