Random Thoughts

A tale of the Easter tortoise and hare

Let me tell you a tale of the Easter tortoise and hare that unfolded at my place this weekend.

 

The story began when I started to think about how I would celebrate Easter this year, and I remembered about a particular egg that had been waiting for some tatting to be done on it. (I had not forgotten about it, I just had too many other projects that needed my immediate attention!)

 

I re-studied the pattern I chose, and I continued from where I left off. A couple of additional motifs were done in no time, and the basket for the egg now had the sides complete.

 

Egg_of_Fortune_Basket_WIP_side

 

I was breezing by, just like the hare in Aesop’s fable! Becoming overly confident that I still have ample time to get it done, I suddenly got the urge to do something more Easter-ly. So I took a detour and tatted these adorable bunnies:

 

Easter_Hare_EH_Bunny_Trim

I especially love the tails!

 

Something more than plain rings and chains… I had so much fun! Feeling quite satisfied, I got back to the egg basket. And it was all downhill from here – I had a really tough time coming up with a bottom that would please my virtually non-existent artistic sense. After hours and hours of fiddling around with the base motif, I finally got something half-decent:

 

Egg_of_Fortune_Basket_WIP_bottom

 

But now, I no longer had enough time (or grit) to get the handle done… what was I thinking, acting like the fable hare?! I should have known better that I was more like the tortoise, with my lack of speed in my tatting and experience in racing against the clock! And I needed to remind myself of this, so I picked up the shuttle I had just put down and tatted these tortoises:

 

Easter_Tortoise_JE_Turtle-Tortoise

Is it just me, or do they look somewhat upset, as if to say “we hope you’ve learned your lesson!”?

 

Maybe I overestimate my capacity from time to time, like the fable hare.

And maybe I will have to learn life’s lessons the hard way when I do.

But maybe if I can remind myself to get back on track and keep chugging along like the fable tortoise, I will eventually come across something at least half-decent.

 

So the story continues for the tortoise in me with the egg basket… hopefully, I will arrive at a happy ending.

 

I know it is very last-minute, but happy Easter to everyone who is celebrating!

3 thoughts on “A tale of the Easter tortoise and hare

  1. =Egg basket=
    Pattern: “Basket of Eggs” by M.K. (motif at the basket bottom has one less repeat)
    Thread: Lizbeth by Handy Hands (cotton lace thread, size #80, colour #104 “Summer Fun” – medium lilac, medium seagreen, medium pink, light turquoise, and white between colours)
    Size: each motif about 3.5 centimetres or slightly less than 1 1/2 inches

    =Hares=
    Pattern: “Bunny Trim” by E.H.
    Thread: Sulky Cotton by Gütermann (cotton embroidery thread, size #30, colour #4103 – variegated white, pink, purple, green, and yellow) – doubled for tatting
    Size: each hare about 2.5 centimetres or roughly 1 inch

    =Tortoises=
    Pattern: “Turtle / Tortoise” of Swan and Turtle pattern by J.E. (converted into a trim)
    Thread: Lizbeth by Handy Hands (cotton lace thread, size #80, colours #161 “Sea Island Citrus” – variegated light yellow, very light ocean turquoise, light lime green, and pale ocean teal)
    Beads: Mill Hill seed beads (size 11/0, colour #G00081 – Jet)
    Size: each tortoise about 1.5 centimetres or slightly over 1/2 inch

    Like

    1. Oh, I’m definitely no saint, Susanne – I have very little patience for what I cannot figure out… you should see my looong list of work in progress (or rather, work put on hold indefinitely)! But it’s the occasional adorable pieces like the bunnies and the tortoises here that keep me so fascinated with tatting, and I’m very glad you’re here to enjoy them with me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

