Thoughts for My People

Sending palm-sized superheroes to the rescue!

Do you have something you always keep in your bag for emergency situations?

 

Maybe candy bars, in case you get stuck in traffic on your way home from work.

Maybe folding umbrellas, in the event that unexpected rain falls when you are out of the office.

Maybe some Band-aids, if and when you accidentally get a paper cut that is always more painful than it looks!

 

Well, I have all these, and then some… hanky and Kleenex (or Scottie, rather), a tiny bottle of rubbing alcohol, a small pouch as my portable bathroom medicine cabinet… the bag keeps growing with age! (The latest addition is a lovely souvenir purse a friend brought back from Vietnam which is perfect for carrying around my tatting WIP’s.)

 

Whats_in_the_Bag

My palm-sized superheroes!

 

But wait, there is one more very important saviour who once again came to my rescue just the other day. It happened when I was walking just as I would on any other day – I felt a faint snap within my left shoe, and my toe was suddenly in an awkward position. My sock got a hole! Now, maybe you would not think of it as such a big deal in the Western society, but in my culture, we take off our shoes indoors quite often… so you can imagine my fear of being embarrassed big time!

 

I rushed into the bathroom and looked into my bag of palm-sized superheroes to reach for this one to come save me:

 

Palm-sized_Sewing_Kit

“No worries, I’ll have you up and running in a jiffy!”

 

A few minutes later, I calmly came out of the bathroom with a re-covered toe which, at a glance, showed no evidence of a hole ever being created (but if you stared at it, you could certainly see my horrific needle work!). PHEW!

 

These palm-sized superheroes are not so mighty, having no magnificent powers. They cannot fend off satanic supervillains, only everyday evils like holes in my socks. They do not appear out of nowhere only in times of need, I have to carry them around at all times in inactive forms. Still, they provide me with such great comfort and consolation just by being with me.

 

Maybe they are not the superheroes my people affected by the big earthquakes last April would call for to help fend off satanic supervillains confronted while rebuilding lives and towns. But maybe they can keep everyday evils from sneaking up and taking a toll on their exhausted minds.

 

So, maybe this week, you can join me in sending palm-sized superheroes to my people?

 

As with all but one previous get well messages which started with sending flower power, there is no need for you to do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you have such a being, or a collection of them, as unremarkable yet reassuring as mine hidden in your bag, you would kindly share them with my people.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot of your palm-sized superhero(es) and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know how it (they) came to your rescue by leaving a comment?

 

Once again, do not go out of your way – let your palm-sized superheroes do that! All you need to do is to record their heroics and tell the world about it.

 

Thank you to everyone who comes by here to read my post(s). Your every view, like and comment is what allows this site to keep growing bigger with age. Although there is nothing mighty about this place, and it cannot battle satanic supervillains for you, it will be here for you if you choose to reach for it… and hopefully, it can provide some comfort and consolation while you are here.

Leave a Reply

