Thoughts for My People

Sending purple posy in a gale of laughter!

“Plants which bridge two seasons” is another name given in my mother tongue to wisteria, because they usually bloom when season turns from spring to summer… which usually falls around this time of the year in my homeland.

 

My people seem to be very fond of wisteria, because they resemble traditional wear with sleeves that drape down below the knees which only young ladies get to wear, reminding us of that particular beauty girls blossoming into women possess. The evening news from a couple of nights ago told that they were now in full bloom in my town and suggested we go enjoy them this weekend… I could easily imagine a big crowd forming, so I took a long lunch break yesterday to beat them to it.

 

I went to this place, the smallest of the municipally-owned gardens, because it is located in the heart of the town and had much of its premises converted into modern buildings and railways:

 

S_Garden

You can see the tall buildings across the entire background, but you hardly notice them while you are here, because you are sure to have your eyes drawn to the many exquisitely trimmed pine trees!

 

As such, everything in this garden is small, and the wisteria trellis is no exception. It is situated in the upper left corner in the above photo, but it is so small you cannot tell from this distance, can you? Well, when you go near, they are all you see in your sight…

 

S_Garden_Wisteria

What a contrast between the pale purple flowers and the blue sky!

 

… and when you go under, you are embraced by their draping arms reaching towards you every time the wind blows!

 

S_Garden_Wisteria_Trellis

Oh, how I wish I could bring back their sweet scent as well!

 

But as I walked around this garden, I found an outburst of purple flowers in bloom:

 

S_Garden_Iris

Different species of iris

 

S_Garden_Hyacinth_Orchids

Hyacinth orchids

 

DSC_9801

Tiny purple flowers I could not identify… anyone know what they are?

 

The walk around the garden only took half an hour or so, but seeing this purple posy in a gale of laughter really lifted up my spirit. And so, I thought I would send them to my people affected by the big earthquakes last April, hoping that their spirits will be lifted, too.

 

Maybe you can join me in lifting up the spirits of my people by adding something purple to this posy?

 

As with all but one previous get well messages which started with sending flower power, you need not do anything special or extraordinary. Only that, if you have anything purple in your sight that has made you feel better just by having it there, you would kindly share it with my people.

 

Maybe you can take a snapshot of your something purple and post it on your site?

And maybe you can let me know how it lifted your spirit by leaving a comment?

 

Once again, you should not go out of your way – just go purple, that is all you need to do!

 

Thank you to all my visitors, old and new, stopping by to read through my post(s). Your views, likes, and comments are my wisteria, iris, hyacinth orchids, and all other flowers purple… they always lift my spirit up! Here is something I brought back from the garden for all of you (though it is not purple):

 

S_Garden_Azalea

Azalea trimmed into the shape of a heart… hidden art, you think?

Leave a Reply

